The Seven Sacraments are a most important part of Catholic life.  They are the Catholic Community’s celebration of the ongoing and effective presence of Christ, physical expressions of Jesus’ love and care for us.  Through the sacraments, Jesus makes “his saving events present and real for us today,” often at the most important moments of our human lives.  A sacrament is a visible sign of God’s invisible love, or grace.

Traditionally we have defined a Sacrament as “an outward sign instituted by Christ to confer grace.”  The seven sacraments are:  Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist (or Communion); Anointing of the Sick and Reconciliation (also called Penance or Confession); and Holy Orders and Matrimony (Christian Marriage.)